We use cookies to improve our service. Learn more.

Guides / Core Concepts

Users

Learn how to create user-specific experiences.

When you log into your music app or social media account, your user experience is totally defined by your data. Your music app has your playlists and favorites, and your social media account is tied to your friends & likes. If you were to log into someone else’s account, the app would look very different.

With Glide, you can make projects that are public and don’t have any focus on User-specific Data. But mostly, you’ll want to make at least some aspects of your project specific to the user. For example;

  • Allow users to save favorites
  • Show different tabs to different users
  • Only allow admins to edit records
  • Let everyone have an individual rating for a specific item
  • Let everyone see their own private notes about a particular item/event
  • Allow a user to do or see something when they have reached a certain level

This guide will explain all the essential features you need to start building user-specific projects.

Access & privacy

In your project’s privacy settings, you’ll be able to choose whether your app is Private or Public. Depending on which one you pick, you’ll see controls for which users can sign in.

The project privacy settings
The project privacy settings

There are quite a few different combinations you can create here. Below is a list of all the different types of access settings you can create.

Private projects

Private projects are not viewable publically. Only the people you allow to sign-in in the users settings will be able to access your app. You can make private projects that are:

  • Accessible only by members of your Glide team
  • Accessible only by users in the users table
  • Accessible only by people with an email matching your domain

If your app contains any sensitive, private, or personal information, then you should use a private sign-in setting.

Public projects

Public projects are always accessible by anyone in the world who has the link. Using the combination of settings in the Privacy Settings area, you can create public projects that are:

  • Publically accessible with no sign-in
  • Publically accessible, but users are required to sign-in
  • Publically accessible, with optional sign-in
  • Publically accessible, but only your Glide team members can sign-in
  • Publically accessible, but only users in the users table can sign-in
  • Publically accessible, but only users with an email matching your domain can sign-in

User table

A user table is where the data for each of your users is stored. Each row represents a user, and each column a property of that user. This table is essential unless your project is totally public with no sign-in.

When you create a new project, Glide will automatically create a Users table and assign it as your User Profile Table.

A User table
A User table

At the very least, the users table needs a column for Name, Email, and Photo. Projects with sign-in can also use Role. You can add as many columns for your users and can use these properties in many different ways. For example:

  • Only show users a tab if their age is greater than 15
  • Create a list of all the users that signed up more than 5 months ago
  • Give editing rights only to Admins
  • Create teams that people belong to
  • Show and hide items depending on users’ interests

User privacy

User data in a User Table is often private and needs to be kept secure. You should therefore add Row Owners to your User Profile's table. Learn about Row Owners.

User profile screen

Apps

When a user clicks on their profile image in the app menu, they will be taken to their user profile screen. You can configure this screen with Components to show and allow the user to edit information. If you want to access this screen in Glide to edit it — click on the tab User Profile, and this will redirect you to the User's Profile screen.

Setting the User Profile table in the User Profile screen
Setting the User Profile table in the User Profile screen

Pages

When a user clicks on their profile image in the menu bar, they will be taken to their user profile screen. You can configure this screen with Components to show and allow the user to edit their information.

How to view the User Profile in a Glide Page
How to view the User Profile in a Glide Page

Preview-as

The Preview-as menu in Glide shows you all the users that are in your Users Table. Depending on your settings, it defaults to either viewing as Anyone or as the first user in the table. If you visit the User Profile Screen and switch users, you’ll see the screen change. Or, if you’re in the Users Table in the Data Editor, you’ll see the data change.

This is an incredibly useful tool if you are building a project with lots of different user data and need to see the experience that different users will have.

Opening the Preview-as menu in Glide
Opening the Preview-as menu in Glide

User-specific columns

User-Specific Columns allow cells to hold unique Data for each user. This means each user can experience their own data for a particular item.

For example, in the table below, there is a column for Notes. This allows users to write their own notes on each item in the app.

A User-specific column in the Data Editor
A User-specific column in the Data Editor

Without User-Specific Columns, this note would appear to everyone else who can see that row. And if someone else changed that note, it would change for everyone else. This is obviously not ideal!

Instead, we can make the notes column User-Specific and tie the Text Entry Component to that column.

Configuring a Specific Column (right) and choosing it in the Layout Editor (left)
Configuring a Specific Column (right) and choosing it in the Layout Editor (left)

Now, when users make notes in this section, those notes will be specific to them. In other words — that single cell will contain a unique value for each user. If you have 1,000 users, there will be 1,000 different versions of that cell — one for every user.

The User-specifi Column allows to add unique values for each user
The User-specifi Column allows to add unique values for each user

Roles

For greater control of your project’s data, you can assign Roles to the users in your user profiles table. You can then use these Roles with Row Owner columns to make certain records only accessible to certain users.

Setting the Role column in the User Profile screen
Setting the Role column in the User Profile screen

This allows you to, for example, give many people the role of 'Admin' and then make 'Admin' a Row Owner for certain rows. Now, only people with the role of Admin will be able to access those rows.

Inviting users

A really easy way to invite people to your project is by using the publish/share screen. Here, you can enter the emails of all the users you want in your project.

Inviting users
Inviting users

They’ll get an email with a 'magic link' in it, allowing them to immediately log in automatically, regardless of the privacy and sign-in settings you have set up.

Magic link
Magic link

But you can also add them manually to the user profiles table.

Updated 1 week ago
Was this helpful?