We use cookies to improve our service. Learn more.

Guides / Core Concepts

Sharing

Install your project and share it with the world.

In our Quick Start guide, we went over the basics of Creating, Publishing, and Sharing your first project. In this guide, we’ll go into more depth, covering all the things you need to know about getting your projects out into the world.

Publishing

By default, all new projects are in draft mode. To publish your project, click the Publish button in the top right of Glide.

Publishing a project for the first time
Publishing a project for the first time

You’ll then see a screen like this, where you can change your app’s URL, control Auto-Publishing, invite people to your project or change the privacy settings. There is also a QR code that you can share with others — when people scan it with their phones, it will open your app in their browser.

The share window where you can invite users to your project
The share window where you can invite users to your project

Project URL

Your project gets an auto-generated unique URL. In the image above, you can see it’s interesting-orange-1390.glideapp.io. You can change this to any domain that is available OR configure your own custom domain — app.mywebsite.com or myapp.com.

Publishing control

By default, auto-publishing is set to on. This means that any change you make to your project will be live. If you turn auto-publishing off, you will be able to work on your project and then push those changes to be live when you’re ready.

Apps with auto-publishing set to off have a dropdown in the publish button that shows this menu. You can see here that you can also discard any changes if the work you did on your project since last publish is not wanted anymore.

The publish controls when you disable Auto-publishing
The publish controls when you disable Auto-publishing

You can also unpublish your project should you need to. You’ll find this in settings. When you unpublish a project, all users will lose access to it. However, if you re-publish it — they will be able to use it again as before.

The Unpublish button in the Privacy Settings of a project
The Unpublish button in the Privacy Settings of a project

Sharing

Glide Apps & Pages live on the web. So you can share them with just a link. This makes them much easier to share and update than regular App Store apps.

Whatever URL you have set up for your project, you can share that with anyone in the world, and they’ll be able to open it on any device.

Installing

Glide Apps & Pages work on all devices. But Apps are designed for mobile & tablet, and Pages are designed for web & desktop.

To install on your phone or tablet, you need to add it to your home screen. Here’s a video showing you how. The video shows only apps, but adding to home screen works the same with Pages.

To install on desktop, you can install it as a Web App. Here’s a video showing you how. The video shows only apps, but installing to your computer works the same with Pages.

Inviting users

A really easy way to invite people to your project is by using the publish/share screen. Here, you can enter the emails of all the users you want in your project.

Inviting users
Inviting users

They’ll get an email with a 'magic link' in it, allowing them to immediately log in automatically, regardless of the privacy and sign-in settings you have set up.

Magic link
Magic link

Privacy Settings

It’s important to choose the right privacy setting for your project.

And if you want to make your project safe and secure, checkout our security guide.

"

Updated 2 weeks ago
Was this helpful?